Amish White Bread

I decided that instead of buying bread made with high fructose corn syrup I would make my own. How hard could that be? It happened to be very easy, until it came time to shape the loaves; the first time I made them they looked a little funny, but the bread tasted great! It was such a simple recipe, and made two loaves. I made sandwiches with one for an entire week and froze the other.

IMG_3327

IMG_1391I decided to try the simplest recipe I could find, which was this Amish White Bread recipe from allrecipes. It was my first attempt at bread baking (except for challah), so they’re a little ugly.  I wish I saw this post before I shaped those first two loaves.

Now I bake this bread all the time – I’ve tried other recipes, including Ina Garten’s white bread, but these are just so simple and turn out so delicious. Sometimes I use honey or agave instead of sugar, but I basically stick to the same recipe every time.

IMG_3329

IMG_1411

The loaves rose like crazy this time.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of warm water (110 degrees)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons active dry yeast
  • 1/3 cup sugar or honey
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 6 cups bread flour (or all purpose if you don’t have bread flour on hand)
  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer, dissolve sugar in the water and sprinkle on the yeast. Let sit for 5 minutes.
  2. Using the dough hook, mix in the salt and oil. Mix in flour one cup at a time, and knead until smooth, about 3 minutes.  Place in a well oiled bowl and turn to coat. Cover with a dish towel or loosely fit plastic wrap and let rise for one hour, or until doubled in bulk.
  3. Punch down dough and knead by hand for a few minutes. Divide the dough in half. Shape into loaves and put each into 9×5 loaf pans. Allow to rise for 30 minutes (covered), until dough is one inch above the pans.IMG_1407
  4. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.
5 responses to “Amish White Bread

  1. Hello,
    Thanks for article. Everytime like to read you.
    Thank you
    Saurooon

  2. The amount of sugar to add is missing. The link to allrecipes.com says to use 2/3 cup.

    I made it today. My loaf pans are small so I made 2/3 of the recipe and took them out of the oven a few minutes sooner. This is a very easy bread recipe and I liked the way it came out, although I think next time I will reduce the sugar a bit.

    • oops! thanks for telling us. corrected!

      i’ve made it with both 2/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup – i find that it’s too sweet with 2/3 cup, so i halved it. i also love making it with honey and other sweeteners.

  3. Great job on the bread! It gets easier to form the loaves with a little practice!
    Gina

  4. It’s Aug.21.10 1:51 am in South Korea.
    Your bread provoke my appetite and remind me of nicely toasted bread and apple jelly. What can I do at about 2 o’clock in the morning. God, It’s too harsh to see them now.

Leave a Reply

